Contact us

Add: 2Floor, Building A, Huilongda Industrial Park, Shuitian Community, Shiyan Street, Bao'an District, Shenzhen City, Guangdong Province, China

Tel: 0086 - 755 - 83570641

Fax: 0086 - 755 - 83570649

Jfopt Location: Jfopt > News > Industry News > Introduction to the crystal heads

Introduction to the crystal heads

Edit:   Date: 2019-10-18

The crystal heads is an important interface device in the network . It is a plastic connector which can be inserted in a fixed direction and automatically prevents falling off. It is used for network communication. It appearance crystal, so it is also called as crystal head. It is suitable for field termination of equipment or horizontal systems, and the enclosure is made of high density polyethylene. Mainly used to connect network card ports, hubs, switches, telephones, etc.

The common categories are as follows:

RJ-9: 4 metal tabs, often used for telephone handset cables or headphones.


RJ-11: 6 metal tabs, commonly used to connect modem modems and telephones.


RJ-45: 8 metal tabs, usually for Ethernet, LAN.


Among them, RJ45 is the most commonly used, and its subdivision is as follows:

1. Shielded (FTP) and unshielded (UTP) by package

2, according to the transmission type, divided into five categories and six categories

3, according to the structure it is divided into one-piece, two-piece, three-piece (Cat6).

4, the metal piece is divided into two forks and three forks (usually single strands with 3 forks, multiple strands with 2 forks).

5.In order to meet its electrical requirements, there is also a thickness of gold plating layer (1U, 3U, 6U, 10U........50U). The main function of the gold plating layer is to improve transmission stability and oxidation resistance; of course,the antioxidant and stability is better, it is more expensive.

6.When chosing the crystal head, some one don't know how to choose. The first thing to be clear is that the crystal head type and the copper type are two concepts. The crystal head is divided into five categories and six categories, while the copper cable has five types ( Cat5), Category 5 (Cat5e), Category 6 (Cat6), and Category 6 (Cat6A). The five types of crystal heads can be used to make Cat5 and Cat5e network cables. The crystal heads(Cat6) can be used to make Cat6 and Cat6e of network cables. Some people will ask, why is there a saying that there are Cat5e and Cat6e of crystal heads on the Internet? That's because some manufacturers sometimes produce high-quality crystal heads with high gold plating thickness and copper content. For example, when making Cat6e network cables, in order to ensure the stability of transmission performance, it is generally required that the gold-plated gold finger layer of the crystal head reaches 15U. Above, they will name this crystal head as a Cat6e crystal head. In fact, the crystal head still belongs to the six-category standard.

7.The most basic way to distinguish between the Cat5 of crystal heads and the Cat6 of crystal heads is to look at the sorting of the line holes inside. The Cat5 connector are lined up, and the Cat6 are the upper and lower rows intersecting each other. As below


Related News
JFOPT | About us | Products | News | Jobs | Sitemap | Certificate

Hot Products:Fiber optical patch cables    Fiber cable supplier    Fiber optical splice closure    Fiber optical patch panel    Fiber test equipment  

CopyRight©JFOPT CO.,LTD.  Powered by: Fiber Optical Cable Fiber cable supplier In China